Posted on

Who says it can’t be done?

I’m really happy with this piece, not just because how it looks but because when I wanted to make it, I was told that it wouldn’t be possible.
I collected pieces of coral when on honeymoomn in Mauritius.
I wanted to pour silver over the coral and make a ‘dripping’ looking pendant. My teacher said she had never seen that done before and doubted it would work. That was all I needed to know to get excited and want to experiment. I used a cuttle-fish cast and poured the silver over the coral – it came out awesomely… a little black on the outside, but i was able to scrub the coral clean, leaving the dripping silver wrapped tightly round the coral. The top part of the silver made a little bubble which was perfect to loop the leather around.
I’m super excited to do more experimenting with coral and have collected a whole bunch here on Dunk Island.
I have just bought some gas for the blow torch and will be doing some moe experimental cast’s once I have finished the engagement ring i’m working on (more on that to follow as it’s a bit hush-hush at the moment).

About roccoblogs

looking for the little extra behind what meets the eye

Leave a comment